Skip to content

Kate Mahoney, L.C.S.W. wins national mental health award

TCSPP’s Naomi Ruth Cohen Institute Executive Director to be honored by Mental Health America

(CHICAGO) (MAY 26, 2017) Kate Mahoney, L.C.S.W., is the recipient of the George Goodman and Ruth P. Brudney Social Work Award from Mental Health America (MHA), a national community-based nonprofit that has been dedicated to addressing the needs of those living with mental illness for more than 100 years. Mahoney, who serves on the board of MHA of the North Shore in Evanston, and is the executive director of the Naomi Ruth Cohen Institute for Mental Health Education (NRCI) at The Chicago School, will receive her award during MHA’s annual conference in June.

“I am truly honored to be recognized by Mental Health America,” said Mahoney. “MHA is one of the premiere organizations dedicated to promoting the overall mental health of all Americans. They were early to recognize that mental health is critical to overall wellness and have been steadfastly working to reduce barriers to care.”

A licensed clinical social worker with more than 30 years of experience in behavioral health,Mahoney has also been awarded the prestigious national Nyswander/Dole Award for her leadership in addressing the opioid epidemic, and was the 2010 recipient of the Mental Health America – North Shore Community Service Award. In her role as executive director of NRCI, Mahoney continues to work on behalf individuals living with mental illness.

“NRCI has worked for more than 15 years to overcome the stigma of mental illness,” explained Mahoney. “We do this by providing mental health education, trainings, and presentations to the greater Chicagoland community. We also host an annual community mental health conference that is open to both the public and mental health professionals. This year’s conference will focus on children’s mental health. It will take place on June 4 at Beth Emet Synagogue in Evanston. There are no fees required to attend.  Registration is still open.” I hope the community will join us!”

In addition to Mahoney, MHA will also recognize U.S. Senators Bill Cassidy and Chris Murphy, Congressman Tim Murphy and Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson for their legislative leadership in mental health reform. Others being recognized include mental health advocate Brandon Staglin and 17-year-old founder of nonprofit, Nadia Ghaffari.

“These noteworthy awardees join an already impressive line-up of speakers and participants at this year’s conference,” said Paul Gionfriddo, MHA president and CEO.

About NRCI

The Naomi Ruth Cohen Institute for Mental Health Education’s goal is to overcome the stigma of mental illness. The Institute provides educational programs and supports organizations engaged in mental health research, education, self-help, anti-discrimination and advocacy. The institute annually plans, promotes and underwrites a Community Mental Health Conference. The Conference — open to professionals and members of the public — addresses critical mental health issues of the day. To learn more, visit

About The Chicago School of Professional Psychology

Founded in 1979, The Chicago School of Professional Psychology (TCSPP) is a nonprofit, private university devoted exclusively to psychology, and related behavioral health services. The Chicago School is an affiliate of TCS Education System, a nonprofit system of colleges advancing student success and community impact. The university serves nearly 4,300 students across campuses in Chicago; Southern California (Los Angeles, Irvine and San Diego); and Washington, D.C., as well as through online programs. The Chicago School is accredited by the WASC Senior College and University Commission, (WSCUC), and its Clinical Psychology Doctoral Programs in Chicago and Washington, D.C. are accredited by the American Psychological Association. With more than 20 graduate degree programs, thousands of hours of real-world training, and a wealth of international opportunities, TCSPP is the leader in professional psychology education. To learn more, visit


# # #

[email protected]